Cyber Bullying: A Bookstagram story.

Hello blogosphere? (That’s what this is, right πŸ€”)
So I’m coming out of my little shell and back to the Blog about something that’s happened yesterday 8th July 2017 with me on Twitter/Instagram.

So here’s what happened.

1- I tweeted a thread about how this new generation…oh well..here are the screenshots:


Basically that is my opinion after watching the way most young adults and teens deal with things these days. They are either triggered or want to become warriors for social justice with their tweets while they lay in the comfort of their homes.
And well, a few people agreed, and no one actively disagreed via any replies on the thread at the time of these screenshots (3 hours from my thread). (I have a small twitter account 350 followers so I didn’t expect any one to even notice them) Tw@theGwiththeB
2- A person (We’ll call them Person A) on IG who has about 40k followers posted a screenshot in support of my tweets and recommended their followers to check out the tweet thread.


3- Another person (Person B) who apparently is a friend of PA went on a bullying spree on their IGstories with about 35k followers. Screenshots (without their handle) as follows:



On their trigger journey they got further triggered by maybe an open to discussion account Lighthouse. As you might notice, they didn’t reach out to me and have a discussion, instead they posted on their IGstories including my Twitter handle which also includes my IG handle (theguywiththebook) I have about 23k on IG and I’m pretty sure there are a lot of mutual followers. (I was informed about PB’s IGstories from one of our mutual followers.)

4- I sent a message to PB on their IG as follows:

As expected this New generation Millennial didn’t respond. They just want to get triggered without having the capacity to face a differing opinion but yeah they do want to change the world. Bravo!
5- Later, Person C got involved and replied to me with a thread and we had a very decent discussion. Non Sarcastic Bravo!
6- Then I found out that PB unfollowed PA for obvious reasons i.e. supporting my POV and another ‘big’ account unfollowed PA as well. Bookstagram friendships for the win! πŸ™ŒπŸΌ

Why am I sharing this here? Mainly because I can’t help but think if any opinion was shared by a much younger person, say a teen or a Young Adult and then this PB tried to bully them in front of 35k people, their reaction would be pretty different. They wouldn’t be calm and wouldn’t have laughed so much at this immature behavior. They would’ve been depressed at this type of stunt to shame and bully them in front of this community we have all come to love, Bookstagram. Such people bring no positivity with their one track ‘oh I am so nice and righteous’ character.

They have no empathy towards anyone, and fact is, if they didn’t have an audience they wouldn’t even be thinking of these things. That’s the reason the screenshots were exported over to Instagram instead of their small twitter account. They just wanted a pat on the back for being furious over things.

Honestly, it was hilarious how with every IG stories PB was proving my point all along. And I can’t fathom how any of this was making them look even remotely sane!

Another example of how not to make a fool of yourself:


Lastly, I want to thank everyone who sent me screenshots informing me about this on IG, stay safe out there, this shiny little world has a lot dark spots.

Remember, if you want to change the world, learn to listen. It’s a diverse world and your opinion doesn’t necessarily fit fit everyone else’s.

Feel free to voice your opinion and if you want to talk to me directly, my Instagram DM’s are open for all – @theguywiththebook

Thanks,

Faroukh

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Saturday, 8th July, 2017.

28 thoughts on “Cyber Bullying: A Bookstagram story.

  1. Lol this is so ludicrous. I think it is incredibly petty to screenshot people’s opinions and give your own comment on it without first approaching the person first or even notifying them that you were broadcasting these screenshots to thousands of people.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s actually hilarious! But jokes aside, this would be devastating to any impressionable young person who is part of the bookstagram community.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re right about someone younger or with a smaller account not handling this as well. People can get very self righteous when defending their friends and easily could have started attacking you on both platforms. The thing about diversity is that it applies to all things, including opinions! To promote diversity and then attack someone for a differing opinion is hypocritical. Ugh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely! I’m chatting with a person who has just started her account and she’s 22…and I asked her opinion and she said that would really get demotivated to be in this space. Also, this made me think…these people probably wouldn’t target a new account, they want more drama on their page to hype stuff up…

      Like

      1. Yeah definitely demotivating. We should be able to share our opinions in the community without being harassed for it. So juvenile the way she handled it. Also she totally skewed your words too, saying you called people who advocate for diversity “trash”. Clearly she’s trying to rile people up.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. There’s a long list of things that proved her level of maturity and the amount of positivity she bringing to the community. Hope people called her out on it, but then again after seeing what’s she’s doing people probably will keep quiet coz she’ll go after them. Bullies.

        Like

      3. It’s just like school. People become popular and get away with saying whatever they want.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hahaha! We should put them in season 2 of 13 reasons why πŸ˜‚

        Like

  3. Question: how do you have the energy for all your social media? I applaud you for that! Especially when something like this post happen… Man…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lolz, well I recognize these people as children who are yet to logout of their twitter and step into the real world where people won’t pin a like and follow on their clothes every time they get furious πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Well. You just have the patience. I don’t and I wouldn’t. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m cool like that πŸ™ƒ

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Awwww man, that was so petty. It was very cowardly way to oppose someone’s opinion. Instagram bullying is real then πŸ˜₯

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup! Smart phones in the hands of dumb people.

      Like

  6. This is an important issue you have brought to light. Cyberbullying does claim lives because not everyone can bear the negative attention and vile treatment. We must continue to denounce his ugly trend.

    Thanks Faroukh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou Oumissa, what could have been a decent and enlightening debate was hijacked by this persons need to show their followers how offended they are by such a cruel thread containing someone’s opinion.

      Like

      1. Exactly. I hate how people divert attention from needed discussions by bringing up insults, false equivalence, fake facts etc. Deny others of benefit and try to upend the laws of existence by making good look bad and vice versa. That is even more reason for us to keep good work going. Enjoy our lives surely but devote resources to good causes. Defending weaker people etc. I can only imagine if it was a teenager with existing self esteem issues that got this treatment. Some of them have many followers but may have been pushed to self-harm and stress by what you experienced

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So true! And opinions aren’t carved in stone, if I have an opinion it doesn’t mean I don’t have the ability to listen and hear out a different point of view. If they had approached me and given me their POV I would’ve tried to understand what their standing is. But nope, drama is more important.

        Like

      3. You realize I’m yazmeen_s on IG right?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh! No I didn’t, I responded with a similar comment there as well πŸ™ƒ

        Like

      5. I respect people with one name on all online platforms

        Liked by 1 person

  7. *this. Though it might have been a male.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You expressed a perfectly valid opinion in a completely inoffensive way, I really don’t understand why rather than just directly reply to your tweet they took to instagram to freak out about it…it also really bugs me that they said your tweet was just telling minorities to “never get triggered” which does not seem like what you were saying/your point at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The more I think about it the more I feel that it was all done to appear righteous and nothing else. In this day and age everyone wants to be praised for how sensitive and understanding they are towards any kind of issue which might be considered ‘offensive’. Such people are incapable of discussing anything and are more likely to try and find loopholes in your argument instead of actually listening to your valid points. Hence, they didn’t first come forward to clarify, instead they just went into their safe space and tried to bully me. Unfortunately, didn’t work out for them.

      Ps: Thankyou for your kind words and support. This is a new experience for me and I’m overwhelmed by whatever support I’m getting in voicing my opinion.

      Like

  9. I am in shock that people can be this petty.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, some people have a one track mind, there’s no space for a difference of opinion. Unfortunate…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is so ridiculous honestly. It’s sad that people can resort to such low places just to make themselves feel better smh. Thank you

        Like

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close