Unbeknown, Unbeknownst.

Did you know these words?

I didn’t and weirdly I don’t recall ever reading or hearing them either.

I love the sound of them and the usage too.

Google came up with:

without the knowledge of (someone).

“unbeknown to me, she made some inquiries”

So, unbeknown to me, unbeknown had always been an unbeknownst word to me.

The beauty of language.

Funny thing is, auto-correct is red underwaving the word ‘unbeknown’ here, seems like it is unbeknownst to it as well.

Is there any word that you were unaware of?

Do you have a favorite word?

If not, it might just be unbeknownst to you right now.

– Faroukh

Office desk again, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. 14th February 2016.

A picture I took over the weekend.

IMG_20160213_070720

 

7 thoughts on “Unbeknown, Unbeknownst.

  1. I can’t think of any at the moment, but I’m sure there’s been a time somewhat recently that I came across a word I’d never heard of before.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s I nice feeling and abit intimidating too when someone casually uses it like no one’s business haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. My favourite word is Bliss โค

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s very funny that two of my favourite words ( of all time) are ‘locomotives’and ‘ain’t ‘ ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha locomotives does have a lovely ring to it!

      Like

      1. Heheh, my brother thinks I am weird because of this but bleh! And IKR I love saying ‘locomotives’ ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close