The Perfect Picture.

When I started posting book pictures on My Bookstagram, I used my cell phone.

They were not ‘pretty’ pictures, the kind you will see most accounts posting, just normal random pictures without any special attention to detail. A month or so later, after seeing so many pictures of books in varying styles and themes and so forth, I got a better idea about how to setup and click.

I normally don’t over-‘setup’ my posts and prefer to take them in day light.

Here are some:

 

A few random ideas I have about Pictures and Bookstagram:

Camera – This is obvious, so no use wasting time on this. But there is a catch which I’ll try to explain a few scrolls down.*** I use only my Blackberry Passport Camera to take pictures. I have a Nikon, which for me is too much work: Take pictures, transfer to phone and post.

Theme – I do not have a theme. I can’t for the life of me make myself repeat a certain pattern and bind myself to a certain type of pictures. Bravo to those who are able to. Maybe its the ease of knowing that a certain type of picture ‘works’?

Books – No matter how nice a picture you have, people approving it (double tapping) as a good picture also hugely depends on the book you have posted. If you post an Autobiography (Not popular on Bookstagram) then you can expect a lot of people not double tapping it. And if you post a shitty Harry Potter picture, you’ll still get a few approvals, but of course not as much. Pictures of paper, naturally have no such problems. They are seen as ‘books’ only. So you can expect very good response to them.

***Awww, so pretty! – One thing I have realized over time, which I know may not be true for everyone. But this is my Blog, and i can say whatever I want to (No, really, that’s true) I can even mis-spell Bannanas. So my 2 cents about pretty pictures:

Β The prettier the picture, the farther the poster.

When I see a really nice picture, I might double tap and leave. I don’t usually comment. This is not something I do consciously, but I found that I did.

Imperfect pictures make perfect conversation starters.

People look more approachable.

“Hey! Look at that, another one like ‘me’ who takes normal pictures. I shall give it a heart and maybe say Hello!”

And I always wanted to be an approachable person. That was the one thing I absolutely did not want to compromise on. I might compromise on the quality of my picture but I will almost always be involved in the posts. People take out the time to comment and show their support in a way, so its only fair to reply…Except if you have a huge account, then you obviously cannot reply to every single one who comments.

So, Try to never ignore anyone. Unless, its an F4F or L4L or S4S.

But, What made me decide to write all the above?

This:

I posted a really nice picture, I think. It didn’t get the kind of response i thought it might get. Here it is:

IMG_20160206_122303.jpg

So, what went wrong?

You can’t get better lighting than that.

The book looks good, with an interesting shadow and the background is pretty natural.

But things went south.

Maybe people didn’t really notice the book?

Maybe the sculpture didn’t make sense and seemed ugly to many?

Maybe i shouldn’t have posted a sculpture on a Book account?

I don’t know what happened, it happened.

Which leads me to think, there might not be any formula to your pictures.

Buggers

PS: I feel so vain typing ‘I, I, I…”

Office Desk 04:22pm, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

23 thoughts on “The Perfect Picture.

  1. Well if I’m being brutally honest, that last photo doesn’t really do anything to me as well. I guess it’s all in the mind eh? We might see something differently to others. It’s only natural and all we can do is accept that and move on. I dunno what I would have done differently to that one though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Buddy! thats what im looking for, Honest feedback! We learn together, grow together!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And so is Tyrion Lanister, But you wouldn’t know :p

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I do know. I am not a hobbit! I do know GOT.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. He is not a Hobbit! He’s an Imp!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I meant to say I do know stuff!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I, super loved all the other pics, specially the murakami one, but, yes.. The last one thou, seems a little off track, like something that isn’t personal..

    We don’t get to see the book or the colors or the name in actuality? So maybe.. It doesn’t garner the response you thought it would?

    Btw… You’re an awesome photographer! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! You’re right, it’s not personal enough! I think I’m getting the hang of taking pictures better everyday πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Did you just say “shitty harry potter”????

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve yet to puzzle out the science of what makes a picture (or account) popular. I think part of the exposure comes from the timing of the post and the hashtags, for people who don’t follow you to find you. I tend to like most of the posts of the people i follow, becuase i like their accounts! But i agree, i can’t keep a theme. I like to switch things up depending on the book or my location. Your pictures are all lovely though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, i think timing is important. But then again some country or the other is up at almost all the time. I think we’ll need to ask Instagram where most followers are from? Themes look nice, but then ive noticed that some accounts that i follow who have a theme….tend to become boring tbh….You have a the same setup and you’re not curious what there next picture will be like…? And thankyou so much for the compliments πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah instagram is tricky to figure out! Lol. I also sometimes see people with themes apologize for posting a picture that doesn’t match their theme or isn’t about books. That makes me sad. You shouldn’t have to apologize for your own content, you’re free to post what you want! But I think some people are afraid to lose followers if they try something different.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yup! That happens, instagram is scary for some users maybe, and they end up living in their comfort zones…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Lol. I just read this. Funny. And yeah, Instagram algorithm is such a pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha don’t even get me started on the algorithm πŸ˜‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close