Do you know Me?

Long story short.
My friends don’t know that I am theguywiththebook on Instagram.
10501865_10154321296410332_1482648853790036089_n
This is Yours Truly!

*This is where the Rant begins*

I don’t know why but I decided I should start something where I could express myself without having to think what others that I know personally would think. Except of course my immediate family, who know me and my mind better than I do, I think.
In 2014 I traveled to Shanghai and Hong Kong alone. For business.‎ I extended my stay to have some fun as well. On my flight back i realized I acted differently on my trip there. Maybe it was the ‘foreign-ness’ of the place. Or maybe subconsciously I knew no one would really judge ‘Me’. So, I must have ended being who I am, as I am.
I’m not saying I went berserk and did stupid stuff. I’m talking about the way I think, the way I spoke up and the way I kept my lips pressed.
Some people who know me follow my account, but they don’t know it’s me. I don’t have any pictures of me there. Of course, I’d want people to know I have a decent account. But what good is that to me? On the face of it yes, it might feel good.
But then, I think it might affect the way I take pictures or form my captions.
You know those times when you’re on your personal account and you have one particular person in your mind, so you phrase and rephrase and delete and re-do your tweet‎ or Facebook status or Instagram post? I don’t want that.
I want it to be true to me and my thoughts and free from Me thinking that I’m being judged (Maybe its the escapist in me).
This might not be the same for everyone, there are so many bloggers who write what they want (I think), without having their minds make them edit stuff.
I get affected by what people think of me and my thoughts.
Not that they are dark thoughts. They are my thoughts, and I don’t want to screw with them.

*Rant over*

Some pictures i took in Shanghai and Hong Kong.

I kind of have figured out what this blog is going to be about. And maybe I could call it, ‘Memoirs of a common man’
I’ve got my blog page open at all times at the office, i write a few lines while I’m calling someone and waiting for them to pick up the phone, scribble down something on my draft whenever I get a chance to. I was browsing my feed trying different themes here (I still haven’t got the hang of it, but it’ll come) and realized I actually wrote quite a lot of stuff. Maybe reading them in an years time will help me gain perspective over whether I’ve grown, stayed constant or deteriorated in life.
I have a dozen followers here following me and one or two new users are kind enough to follow it every now and then. I remember when I started the instagram (we’ll call my it Bookstagram) account in late August, my objective was to use that account as a motivation to keep reading and logging down all the books I’ve read (I didn’t know about goodreads.com) In a months time I think I had close to a hundred people interested in my Bookstagram.‎ I used to get 9 or 10 likes or maybe 20 on a good day.
Suddenly my interest in the account included me wanting a 100 followers and 25 likes per post.
And as you’ve probably guessed it, I then wanted 500.
1000…2000…3000…
‎You get the idea.
Let’s blame Human nature.
How did I realize this? – When i started this blog and the follower count showed ZERO, I thought I’m going to write my thoughts here (for myself) but then I got One Friend – LilRant who has a Beauty Blog and was cool enough to give me some tips on how to go about in here.
So, I thought, maybe in the future if things go like they went on Bookstagram, this page might evolve into something else, but right now it’s for me.
My idea for this account is to help me gain one thing. Writing.
I want to be able to write again. To express my thoughts. And occasionally say things without thinking about them twice.
haruki-murakami-quote

But I Knew That!!

You know those times when you read a quote by someone famous OR anonymous and you’re like, ‘I always knew that!!’
‘Why did I not write it down myself!?’
The difference is that they decided to actually write it down and We decided to read it.
‎So, my objectives are clear (for now) I don’t ‘want’ followers. I want to give life to my thoughts.
In the process if people decide these thoughts are interesting Or when they read it, They say, ‘I always knew that!!’ then I guess ‘Mission: Accomplished’
There’s one thing I need help with again, and I’m pretty sure if you’ve read until here you will ‎be kind enough to share your thoughts on this. How many blogs do you actually read? And do you read each and every blog that someone posts or just brush through?
What will help me to make this account something that people would Want to read every single time?
Up to this dot —->.
10:41am, a bright sunny day, in the corner of a room on my office desk, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
37 thoughts on “Do you know Me?

    1. Thanks! Just trying my hand at some free form writing, Appreciate the feedback 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Beautiful photos, Faroukh!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m sorry I replied so late, I was writing a rant post lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha! Never Ever think about anything when you’re Ranting! Lolz! Rule # 1 of Rant Club

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I had to erm, edit out the profanities (and Once Upon a Time distracted me)!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. One of my favorite shows. I watch it for the hot pirate with an even hotter British accent.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh! Havent heard of it…Im watching ‘Narco’ nowadays…Based on Pable Escobar….Bloody Brilliant! And if you watch(ed) Game of Thrones then you’ll be happy to the guy who plays oberyn martell in it too!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I hate Game of Thrones. Don’t kill me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I read maybe a dozen blogs, mostly people who write about or review books. Sometimes I skip over a review post if I have no interest in the book. But I try not to follow a million blogs because my goal is to keep up with people’s posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly how I feel about it too…you only have so much time…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I came here from Suchie…sorry it’s not my fault if I get drawn to people with books 🙂 Anyway I really love this little intro of yours and I could really identify with certain things you talk about. I have a hodgepodge of a blog which really started off as a book blog at first but branched out into so many things eventually. I look forward to your posts 🙂 Btw, stalking you on Instagram as well. Unfortunately, I read on my Kindle predominantly so can’t show off books as well as you do 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s cool! Thanks a lot! I haven’t ever read on a kindle, yet…i look forward to seeing you around!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You write so beautifully… 👏👏 And I could totally relate to this….I also wanted to be anonymous on Instagram for the very same reason when I started posting what I wrote. But my bad, I realised it too late and already had my cousins and all following me.. So I couldn’t do anything… But I think it’s fine to me for now.. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 I’m really hoping to make this platform work…and yeah, after a certain time you can’t really stay anonymous…

      Liked by 1 person

      1. BTW….nice pics!!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I know what you mean about caring what people think of you. It is sometimes difficult to write what first comes to mind for fear of offending someone. Happened to me after I read your post about your typical day a the office. I would have written a comment to pull your leg but thought better of it.😄. However don’t impose too many restrictions on yourself or you may lose your enthusiasm and we wouldn’t want that would we?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m very good with criticism (I think) s you could!! 🙂 and yes we think a lot, which I think isn’t a bad thing. But sometimes, you want to be free to express without being in a tricky situation…

      Like

  6. Oh it wasn’t a criticism, a joke really which I think wouldn’t offend you, but perhaps some of your readers…political correctness and all that 🙂 Look forward to your future posts…keep on blogging 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean 🙂 And i think, yes, sometimes, its better to not take chances 🙂 I’ve just posted!

      Like

  7. Totally relatable post! As usual, you’re doing a great job with here.

    How, I love the way you effortlessly write! 😁😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou! 🙂 I’m very bad with big words, small words are more my thing I think…

      Like

  8. Hey, finally got around to comment. Been following your blog ever since you mentioned it on instagram. Just want to say that your post are great. Keep posting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thankyou rekha…I’m kind of out of time to post anything new…dont want to post just for the sake of it…but soon Insha’Allah 🙂

      Like

  9. Oh my god this post speaks to me on a whole new level! I know exactly what you mean!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you could relate! TBH, I even forgot I had posted this 🤦🏻‍♂️

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I agree with keeping yourself anonymous, I’m just thankful no one from my family is on Instagram 😂 Although they do know that I have a blog & Instagram, they sometimes help behind the scenes with ideas etc.
    I don’t read every single blog post on my feed but the bloggers that are my favorites, I always read the full thing. Otherwise I read those that seem interesting to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup! I don’t mind my family knowing and following anymore but friends are big NO-NO for me 🤦🏻‍♂️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My closest friends are totally okay, they’re always supporting & helping out but otherwise I feel too weird. A really old friend of mine followed me & then I felt so weird about whatever I was writing so i blocked & unblocked so she doesnt follow me anymore 😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hahaha! Sorry I just saw this…but yes, it’s so much better expressing when you know people you know in real life aren’t reading 🤦🏻‍♂️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close